Many times it is the small things in life that can make the whole difference in a day.  My granddaughter reminded me of this elementary fact earlier today.  During our lunch, she had spied a green balloon amongst the bright-colored balloon bouquet festooning the hostess station.  Being the smart little girl who she is as well as a planner, she had informed me and her mommy that she hoped the one lone green ballon could be hers before we left the dining establishment.  My daughter, being the straighforward caretaker who she is, responded by telling her daughter to ask for what she wanted. 

Sure enough, after we had finished eating and paying our check, my granddaughter asked the hostess if she could please have the green balloon.  And guess who left the restaurant with a bright green helium balloon attached to her small wrist?  My daughter’s daughter.  Yes, she did. 

As I walked beside my daughter and her daughter to our respective cars, I couldn’t help smiling and wishing that life could always remain so simple.  Wishing that a bright green balloon could put a smile on each of our faces for the rest of the afteroon.  Or barring that, until it accidentally popped or was released to the heavens.  By then, another easily found joy would have taken its place. 

Maybe life is still that simple.  If so, make mine a purple one, please.  Balloon, that is.

