I never cease to be amazed and awed of the power and influence adults have in and over children of all ages. Being amazed, however, does not mean that I don’t sometimes forget. Forget that as an adult, in particular as a parent and for some time now as a Grammie, that I hold considerable influence in my family members’ lives.

Messages are sent constantly via body language, silence, story telling, and touch. Little pitchers have big ears and even when they appear to not be listening or watching or paying attention, they are and do. What are they seeing, hearing, surmising?

We don’t know and cannot know. What we can know for sure is that parents and grandparents and aunts and uncles and older brothers and sisters are serving as role models each and every day. Kids do as we do and not so much as what we say.

Like I said, I stand in awe and amazement at the influence and sway that I hold in my grandkiddos’ lives.

