That is the name that I have given to the vertigo monster that has been inhabiting my body since early February. As some of you may recall, it was just three nights ago that I was able, after 30 nights, to finally lie down for half the night in a prone position to sleep. Riding on the high that only five hours of sleep on one’s back and side can provide, I attempted a full nite’s sleep, lying down.

Well, that little venture proved too much for the monster’s under the bed to abide and after only one hour of lying down, I was sucker punched with another huge bout of vertigo. For the rest of the night I was unable to close my eyelids nor tolerate even a pillow touching the back of my head to help keep my head in the upright position.

It turns out that one’s head will fall forward, back or to either side when one’s eyelids droop. But never fear, as soon as my eyelids would close, the She Devil would wake me with a wave of nausea and vertigo, which would make me open wide my eyes. Until the next droopy eyelid cycle.

Being presently unemployed and without insurance or money, I had been staving off going to the doctor for diagnosis and/or help. The She Devil won out though and I went to a local hospital’s emergency room yesterday morning. IV fluids, drugs, an MRI, EKG and 7-1/2 hours later the diagnosis of vertigo was provided along with a prescription for an antihistimine to help with the nausea and vertigo.

Needless to say, I will be sleeping upright for some time to come. I suppose it’s a small price to pay to keep the She Devil from taking over my body. But dang it all to heck and back, She did rob me of keeping my commitment to posting a blog daily. I should have had some waiting in the wings to simply post. That would have taken too much planning on my part it seems. Oh well. I am back now and I suppose in the end, I get to be the decide-er of what merits success or failure.

And I say the fact that I am up, showered, and writing my post for today constitutes a grand success. So take that She Devil. Be gone! Depart. Quickly. You are not welcome here. Ever again.

