Since my possible curse, and I say possible not because I am not sure that a woman put a curse on me but because I am not sure whether it took or not.  Whether my spirit shrugged it off or if the curse snuck in somehow.  Anyway.  Since this curse-ing, I have been doing little things to move back to my center.  Some might label my behaviors as attempts to self soothe.  Others might chalk my culinary efforts up to simply caving into my seemingly wide-awake-never-sleeping appetite of late.  But whatever the reason, I have been cooking. 

I would like to report that my efforts have been rewarded with deeLish-ous edible delights.  I would like to say that I have cooked up some comfort.  However, to say those things would be to move outside the realm of truth.  Now I have been known to hang out in that un-truth realm a time or two, for a decade urrrr I mean a minute here and there.  But I usually deal in reality when sharing about my Kitchen Time.  So here’s the truth or as close to the truth as my maybe-cursed self can ascertain ~ aside from the crock pot chicken meal that I blogged about the other day, my other food dishes have not been my best efforts.  Put another way, I am glad I didn’t have company bellying up to the old dining room table. 

The day after the tasty chicken meal I channeled Annie over at Forest Street Kitchen and came up with a meal based on the leftovers (or what we call fondly in my home, leftyovers).  Annie comes up with weekly menus for her household and these menus include clever and, I am sure, tasty ways to use leftovers.  I actually got pretty excited about coming up with the idea to use the leftyover chicken to make some chicken enchiladas.  Ummmmm.  My excitement started to fizzle right around the time that I started rolling up the corn tortillas and they started splitting.  Well actually, earlier in the process I wondered if the curse was still in place when I realized that I had forgotten to put corn tortillas on the grosh (aka grocery) list and had to beg the SO to go back out into the pouring rain and high winds to retrieve a package of the flat round discs of corn.  All to disappointing avail.  The chicken enchiladas were a 4 on a 10 point scale of tastiness and a 1 on a 5 point scale of comfort. 

Not to be deterred, the next morning I decided to make some banana pumpkin bread.  I mean how comforting does that sound?  Warm pumpkin-y bread fresh from the oven.  Yum.  Not.  Although the inserted toothpick came out clean as a whistle the bread was bread on one side of the loaf and mushy dough on the other.  After managing to get the now smushed up loaf back into the bread pan and baking for a while longer, the bread ended up being anything but comforting.  Drat. 

Today I am cooking a tried and true dish, red sauce with mushrooms, diced tomatoes, onions, garlic, black olives, basil, oregano, black pepper and a few red chili flakes.  I simmer it down to a rich flavorful thick mixture and serve over spagetti noodles.  So far, so good.  The aromas have filled the Attic and the taste proves richer with each test.  I am hoping with this meal, any lingering curse that might ever have been residing anywhere in or near me will disperse.  as in leave.  as in no more. 

