crystals.jpg

Do you ever experience the urge to jump in front of the BART train as it blusters by?  The almost impossible to resist urge.  This urge builds quickly as the two-eyed monster made of steel and glass races closer and closer.  The kind of urge that one must physically turn away from, firmly, and with intention. 

I do. 

I am well acquainted with this urge.  I should be as this sensation passes through me six times per week.  Three times in my morning commute as I make my way into the Big City and three times as I trundle home.  So far, I have held fast even through my disquiet.  I have not given into this impulse.  I will say on my behalf (in definance of my other half) that it takes a concerted effort on my part(s) to turn away.  The degree of my efforts run from merely acknowledging and intentionally turning my back to the oncoming train to a more taxing effort, pivoting only at the last possible second. 

I write this post with hesitance.  thoughts of my soft underbelly pop up.  yet is one truly too vulnerable when occupying the driver’s seat?  or in this case, the writer’s seat?  

I genuinely wonder what others do with such compulsions.   and 

I am curious

if this urge will feel any different now that I have written

out loud

about its presence. 

   ~ [photograph courtesy of Flickr photographer]

