cd.jpg  My buddy Lily Pod (of the iPod Nano variety) and I have been groovin’ to some country tunes lately.  This music genre is not our typical Big City commute fare as we are partial to headbanger, acid rock for those journeys.  Usually.  Lately, country has been Number One.  Do you ever get a tune in your head that goes around and around and then back again?  Do you wake up humming, really loudly, that same tune?  I tend to get hooked on a song ~ either the melody or the lyrics and then I will listen to the song over and over.  Sometimes this tune re-playing can go on for a week or two or sometimes three.  Good thing it’s just Lily and me… 

This go round started with Jimmy Buffett’s Boats to Build.  Buffett’s songs often have that island-y flavor and this one follows suit.  The hook for me is the chorus “I’m gonna build me a boat with these two hands… .”  There is something about that image, creating something, in this case, a vessel with my hands ~ using my hands to create versus my head that holds massive appeal at the moment.  Plus, the tune sucked me in. 

I am also listening continuously to Buffett’s Trip Around the Sun.  Again, catchy tune but I have been marinating on the idea of each calendar year representing the Earth’s full trip around the sun.  The words are simple but rich and depthful. 

Every day’s a revolution

Pull it together and it comes undone

Just one more candle and a trip around the sun.

I’m just hanging on while this old world keeps spinning

And it’s good to know it’s out of my control

If there’s one thing that I’ve learned from all this living

Is that it wouldn’t change a thing if I let go.

I particularly have been percolating on the last line it wouldn’t change a thing if I let go.  That line can be interpreted several different ways.  What do you make of it? 

Oh and keeping in the country vein, Kenny Chesney’s Don’t Blink, reminds me of how fast our days here on Planet Earth pass by.  I am not compelled to listen to it as often as Buffett’s tunes but enough to have memorized 85% of the lyrics. 

What’s spinning on your music player? 

