dandelions.jpg 

of advice of never learn how to do anything that you don’t want to do for the rest of your life.  Depending on the thing that needs learned, the thing that needs done, and whether you are the one to both learn and do this particular thing, this advice – sage or not – could come in handy. 

This morning while grinding Trader Joe dark blend coffee beans in my bright red coffee bean grinder, my mind tripped over the stack of stuff that I don’t know how to do, yet.  Let me clarify the requirements of what can be in this stack of don’t know how to do stuff.  Nothing goes onto this stack that I am not interested in learning how to do.  Things like electrical wiring of a city building or how to efficiently (and safely) milk a camel will not be included.  No, only stuff I have a keen interest and attraction to learning goes in this particular stack. 

Here’s just a short list of some of the stuff ~

  • the art of blown glass
  • how to use a digital camera (I love photography and wasn’t half bad w/the old-fashioned SLR stone-aged cameras)
  • additional painting techniques (I am a visual artist, working in mixed media)
  • continued efforts in learning the Korean language, including speaking, understanding, writing and reading (after countless hours of classes and private tutoring, I can still only say hello but I haven’t given up)
  • how to record a television show so I can watch it when I am not blowing gorgeous glass pieces or translating (perfectly) the Korean language
  • the art of creating driftwood mobiles 

I tell myself that when I finish my disser and pre-doctoral internship that I will pursue my own brand of education.  I will start taking some stuff off the stack and tackling some good old-fashioned fun.  And I tell myself that I will not allow my future post-doctoral internship nor my studying for and taking of the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (fondly known as the E Triple P), nor the studying for and passing of the state exam of whichever state I land in to practice, nor the building of my practice to get in the stinking way of some of the stuff that makes life plain worth living.  You know what I mean, jelly bean? 

Finally, I will point out that true to Mama’s advice, I refuse to put anything on that list of future learn-ables that I will not be happy to do for the rest of my life. 

~  [photo courtesy of Flickr photographer]

