brassring.png  I learned something new this week.  Sort of.  This piece of knowledge was actually returned to me.  Kind of.  I used the word dovetail and someone asked me what that meant.  I said it was when two doves are in flight and they almost collide but instead their sky paths intersect.  Later in the day, I recalled the snippet of conversation and my definition.  Wood joints appeared in my mind’s eye and I thought, uh-oh, I think dovetail has something to do with holding a dresser drawer together.  Sure enough, this is what the American Heritage Dictionary (online) has to say: 
 

dove tail

  1. A fan-shaped tenon that forms a tight interlocking joint when fitted into a corresponding mortise.

  2. A joint formed by interlocking one or more such tenons and mortises.

  

Somehow though, I kind of like my definition better.  I mean really, my version has two lovely white doves flying on a possible collision course but diverting just in the nick of time thus avoiding a head on scene.  And where their feathered bird bodies would have intersected there is only their wind streams, or dovetails.   

If you ask me, that’s way more interesting and fun than a tenon and mortise.  Well…  Okay, I will admit that maybe on some days the “tight interlocking joint” might hold some interest…  *laughs*  My bad. 

