Ever hear that saying “life gives us what we need, when we need it?” or “Life is full of serendipity?” Well I agree that life does (sometimes at least) and that it is (more times than naught).

I’ve been thinking a lot lately on the subject matter of role models and mentors in one’s life – how to go about finding them, being astute enough to recognize them when they come around, their profound effect(s) – often times throughout the entire course of one’s life, the lessons and wisdom they offer, and the fact that one can never tell where and when they will crop up or in what form – meaning that sometimes they’re like family, we often times don’t get to pick them.

Anywho, as I rattled about yesterday in the Attic doing a little of this and a little of that and a lot of procrastination (big time on the procrastination), I tuned into the television program I had turned on (having it on helps greatly in the procrastinating department). What caught my eye was the moderator from Comics Unleashed – I knew I recognized him from somewhere but couldn’t recall right away from where. By the time I had placed him, I was listening to his interview with Shaquile O’Neal, the 7’3″ basketball player.

Shaquile was talking about his work with kids and how his parents had encouraged him from a very young age to set goals. The interviewer asked Shaquile if he saw himself as a role model and he responded (and I’m paraphrasing here) – ‘I don’t view myself as a role model in these kids’ lives because I don’t play a role; I see myself as a real model because when I’m with the kids I am real.’ Cool.

I like that idea.

And then on this blog yesterday after my admission of losing in the comparison game that I had been playing, a dear friend reminded me of my importance in her life. And more importantly she took the time to tell me. I needed her reminder and I read and re-read her words, several times.

I was reminded of Gary Zukov’s theory (once again paraphrasing) that the Earth is a school and that we are each teachers and students to one another, simultaneously. To me this means that we each have the opportunity to lead and to be led, to teach and to learn, to share and to receive, to mentor and be mentored, and to love and be loved. Cool.

I like that idea.

