There’s nothing like a marshmallow after it’s been roasted, or lit on fire as the case may be, over an open beach bonfire. My roasting method is to light it up and then when it’s good and burnt, to peel off that crunchy black shell and enjoy while all the while setting it on fire again. I can usually get 2-3 burned shells from one marshmallow. Yumm!

The only thing that could be better than that would be to have it as a dessert after having scarfed down a hot dog that’s been roasted over said beach bonfire.

And then the only thing that could make those two culinary delights better would be to eat them sitting on a big chunk of driftwood beside my familia and friends this summer in Homer-by-the-Kachemak-Bay.

I realize that it is not yet summer and that I have a few months to wait until this event can take place and I’m still way excited. Does that tell you how much I am looking forward to coming home this summer?

And strangely enough, I seem to be looking forward to turning 50 and beginning that particular decade of my life. I am holding no dread of my 50’s and instead feel ready to step into this phase of my life. I think it’s going to be grand. I really do.

