I was asked yesterday by a brand new acquaintance what my relationship status was.  Meaning, I gathered, was I involved, taken, belonging to another, tied up, tied down, bogged down, in a rut, newly wedded, deliriously happy, passionately satieted, or barren, bereft, afloat, alone, blissfully single, between partners, or simply untethered from the demands of another human being in an ongoing relationship.  Out of the multitude of responses at my disposal, here were the words which sprang from my lips ~ my heart is wide open.

WTF?!

For anyone who has been a follower of this blog for any length of time, you might get it like in, right away, that this was an atypical response for me given my life’s journey this past couple of years.  But there it was.  The words said, passed from and over my lips.

And what is more, as I have had time to ponder, which obviously I have taken the time to do, I realize that the words are a true reflection of said heart.  The said heart ~ my heart ~ the one that is, indeed, open ~ much to my surprise and actual delight.

Hearts, spirits, beliefs, values ~ all have a funny little way of making changes, often times profound, sometimes in small ways, sometimes in big leaps and bounds ~ stealthily, silently, quietly, slowly, or just plain simply ~ and then our mind’s get a great big old WTF awakening.  And then we adjust, metabolize the alterations and carry on.

